Purge Settings

The Purge Settings define the configuration parameters to manage the purging of FlexDeploy execution data from the database repository, and purging of the artifacts stored in the artifacts repository.  These settings should be carefully adjusted to meet your data retention requirements for audit, and at the same time purging data which is no longer required to ensure a high performing system.

PropertyDescription

Purge Enabled

Indicates whether the purge process is enabled. Purge runs every 24 hours if enable, beginning with a few minutes after server startup. If you have concerns with running purge at some specific milestone deployment event, you can disable the purge temporarily.

Keep Success Count

How many successful project version builds to keep regardless of Retention Days (Operational)

This is a global setting for each project, and not specific to an environment/instance.

Keep Failed Count

How many failed project version builds to keep regardless of Retention Days (Operational)

This is a global setting for each project, and not specific to an environment/instance.

Keep CountHow many project versions to keep for each environment/instance regardless of Retention Days (Operational). This helps you keep a specific number of latest deployments so that you can revert back to previous versions if desired.
Keep Pipeline Executions by Release CountHow many pipeline executions to keep per release.

Retention Days

How many days of execution data to keep. If you would like to retain one year worth of history for deployments, keep this value to 365 or higher and control space usage by using lower value for Retention Days (Artifacts and Logs).

We recommend using Keep Success Count along with Retention Days to make sure specific number of successfully deployed versions are retrained irrespective of Retention Days parameter.

Age of data is determined based on creation time.

Retention Days (Artifacts and Logs)

How many days to keep artifacts and execution logs.

Artifacts and Logs are always kept for executions that are not purged due to Keep criteria, hence latest versions will always have artifacts and logs.

Purge Rules

  • Any workflow execution that is the last successful deployment to an environment is automatically excluded from the purge.
  • The four KEEP related parameters override the DAYS parameters (e.g. if Retention Days is 1 day, anything which was deployed more than 1 day ago is still retained if necessary to satisfy the KEEP parameters).
  • The Retention Days are based on the first date found in this sequence:
    • End time of the workflow execution
    • Start time of the workflow execution
    • Created time of the workflow execution
    • Requested start time of the workflow request
    • Created time of the workflow request.
  • When artifacts have been purged, a red circle will appear next to the project version indicating that the artifacts have been purged. These project version can no longer be deploy to any environment. To redeploy you would need to perform a new build using the same revision of the source code.